top of page
  • Kay Morgan-Gurr

Knitting, Crocheting and Praying

Like any Crocheter or knitter - I have a few projects on the go at once!

Brightly coloured Chrocheted African Flower Hexagons set out ready to sew

This is usually because I love the knitting/Crocheting part....but dislike the sewing up part. This is more to do with the fact I can knit and crochet even when my eyes are really bad - I can knit with my eyes shut! Sewing up however requires my sight to be reasonably good, and my hands not too painful - so I usually have at least three projects needing to be sewn up.

One of my crochet projects at the moment is a whole lot of African Flower Hexagons (Photographed) that I'm going to make into a wrap - The easiest thing to wear if using a wheelchair. (Bright is good - people see me coming instead of looking over my head and walking in front of me).

I'm really enjoying this - just because I'm doing a lot of writing at the moment, and the pattern, once memorised, is very simple. I can plan and think through what to write and construct each paragraph in detail with each hexagon. The pattern is easy to just put down and pick up - so lends itself well to the writing process.

I've been known to plan holiday clubs, talks and sermons like this too!

Half fininshed knitting project in self patterning wool

My current knitting project is a hoodie cardigan in self patterning wool (photographed complete with my new carbon fibre knitting needles) - a simple design perfect for 'quiet time' praying.

I'm a 'can't be still' person. My hands are always on the move - drumming, twiddling and playing with my rings. Keeping my hands busy helps me to concentrate and listen.

I just wish I had the courage to knit during sermons!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page