top of page
  • Kay Morgan-Gurr

Light Up the Yarn

Last year I wrote a post on knitting when you have a visual impairment - which got quite a bit of interest in the knitting community. (You can read it here).

Since then I've discovered some other things that are worth a review or two - all involving lights!

The first is what is marketed as a knitting light.

You hang it around your neck and bend the lights to point at your work. The lights can be lit independently and have three brightness settings. I bought the rechargeable version as that suits how I work, but you can get replacement battery ones.

They are wonderful! So good in fact, that on a trip away from home where I forgot them - I ordered some on Amazon prime to arrive where I was staying the next day. The ones in the picture are those lights, made even better by the fact they are pink. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Next is a lit crochet hook. Yes - a hook with an LED light! Actually - the light is in the handle and the hooks are interchangeable clear plastic ones in a good range of sizes. Normally I dislike plastic hooks and needles as they hold onto the yarn too much (I prefer the yarn to slide easily). But that doesn't seem to be an issue with this, and the hooks are perfect for amigurumi crochet. In the picture I'm making the feet for one of my 'Tiger's Turtles' - the wool so dark it was difficult to see what I was doing. This gadget really helped. The hooks do tend to bend, which can be a little disconcerting, but I haven't managed to break one yet - even the 2.5mm hook. The handle (and so the light) is rechargeable, but you can get a lot of work done before it needs a charge. If you travel like I do - don't forget the charger - it's a non standard one.

Then we have the lit needles! They're difficult to get hold of, expensive for what they are, and rather long and unwieldy. I tend to knit on short needles - either children's metal needles or 10 inch (25cm) knitpros. These are 13 inch (33cm) including the battery holder.

The fact they need three button batteries make them too top heavy for me - but other folk find them well balanced. They are also plastic, meaning the yarn can tug a little - it depends on what yarn you're using. I will use them for dark wool when knitting something that's intricate (and needs a 4.5mm needle...that's the only size I have!) but I wouldn't make them my standard go to. My current favourites are Knitpro zing - both in knitting needles and crochet hooks, although the knitpro symphonie range remain firm favourites.

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page