top of page
  • Kay Morgan-Gurr

Trying A New Skill

I love knitting, I like crochet.... So I decided to try something that is described as a combination of the two! It's called Tunisian Crochet (Sometimes Afgan Crochet).

You use a very long crochet hook, and a lot more wool, but once you get going the basic stitches are quite easy, and the results look great for little effort.

Hubby bought me the hooks for my birthday 3 weeks ago. I had a brief go at the time, but because I was in the middle of Christmas projects, I decided to leave it until those were done before having a more determined go

Here's a close up of my first project: (Its a scarf that will go well with a coat bought with birthday money...)

Sample of Tunisian Crochet in multi coloured stripes

I've used a multicoloured Alpaca/Acrylic mix wool, that looks self patterning - but isn't. (It's a Turkish brand my local wool shop sells).

What I learn from this project is I can't be sloppy with the ends of rows - they need to be pulled a little tighter than I would with basic crochet (But not too tight, or the already fiddly end stitch will be even more difficult to do!)

I also found it's easier because you don't have to turn your work - you always have the right side facing.

I also learnt that the back and forth that would normally be two rows actually counts as one - the left to right return is always the same, so not counted - therefore patterns only mention/number the right to left row.

The downside for me is - I need to look more closely at what I'm doing because I'm new to it - so my eyes are NOT happy with that. I have a condition that affects my eyes - looking at something too long hurts and being able to refocus my eyes can take hours.

I'm having at go at a wrap now - using two different stitches (Reverse stitch and knit stitch) and an insert of the basic stitch too.

Start of tunisian crochet project in tweed green and cream

If you are a Tunisian crocheter and can recommend some GOOD pattern books (Especially baby clothes), let me know. There seems to be lots of throws and scarves, but very little else out there.

If you want to know what I did for my Christmas projects - you'll need to check my previous blog!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page