top of page
  • Kay Morgan-Gurr

Christmas Projects

Actually - these were my 'pre-Christmas ' projects - getting ready for Christmas!

I always like to do something home made for people - especially when we opted to give a gift to charity rather than send Christmas cards this year.

I had some 'African Flower' motifs left over from another project, and spotted some really cute turtles on Facebook that used these very pretty granny 'hexagons' (Crochet for Children Group - they have some great free patterns there)

Here's the result:

Three turtles crocheted with African flower motif. Done in Blue, Green and Pink

The pattern is on Cindy Eggleston's Ravelry page here: Baby Turtle Instructions

(Along with an alternative pattern where the legs are shorter and the turtle stands up). I would describe the pattern as easy, but the legs slightly fiddly.

I also did Christmas pudding sweet holders - quick to knit with a big impact on the receiver of these gifts.

I got the pattern from someone helping a charity craft afternoon - I think she may have designed it herself, as I've not found a pattern anywhere else that I can attribute them to. (If you are, or know the designer - let me know so I can get permission to put the pattern on here)

I did them on 3.25mm needles, and they comfortably held Lindt Lindor sweets. They are designed for Ferrero Rocher, but I think that would need either a looser tension or 3.50mm needles!

The other pattern I did as a holder for chocolate Santas (And a money holder for some relatives who asked for cash). They were Crocheted mini stockings - a pattern in a 2015 'Let's Get Crafting' magazine's Christmas pullout. It's crocheted in the round. I added a couple of rows to make sure it could hold the Santa so his eyes were just peeking over the top. I also did some to hold serviettes on Christmas day.

You can find these patterns on the internet very easily - just try a few and settle on the one that suits your style of crochet.

I think I'd use a thinner wool on the heel in the future to give the stockings a better shape.

If you're a bit nervous of crocheting in the round - this is a great project to give it a go or practice on.

Well, there's what I did this year - time to get knitting for next year!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page