top of page
  • Kay Morgan-Gurr

Miles For Good

I'm part of the council of reference for a wonderful charity called 'Home for Good'. You can read about their story here.

During June, through various supporters, they want to cover 35,000 miles – a mile for every child who enters the UK care system each year.

Some are walking, some running on treadmills, some cycling, and some even hop-scotching their miles. There are a vast array of miles being done in lots of ways. Some have opted for one or two miles, others will be doing more, but together the miles will mount up.

Because I can't walk, run or hop any miles, and the fact doing them in my power-chair can be painful (believe me - I've done it in the past), I have instead come up with the mad idea of knitting two miles of yarn!

They have been/will be knitted into various versions of these guys:

The bear is a version of the one owned by Mr Bean - the pattern designed by Sarah Bradbury © July 20th 1998

The Elephant is from pattern book 3778 by Patons. I may opt for doing the rabbit from this book too.

I will keep you updated with progress in the next posts. So far I have seven in various stages of completion. The idea is, I will knit the 2 miles, then sew the animals up and stuff them at the end.

Meanwhile - back to the knitting!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page